University of Patras » Research » Research Committee

Research Committee

The Special Account of Funds and Research of the University of Patras was established according to the disposition of the Common Ministerial Decision no. KA/679/22.8.1996 that was a modification and commutation of the no. B1/819/20.12.88 Common Ministerial Decision. That decision foreseen the creation of "Special Account" to each one of the Higher Education Institutes, and Technological Institutes in Greece. The objective of this Special Account was the utilization of funds targeting to the Research and Development.

The administration of the Special Account consists of:

  • The Research Committee
  • The Secretariat of the Special Account

Research Committee

The Research Committee of the University of Patras consists of representatives of all the Departments of the University that are elected over a three years period. The head of the research committee is the Vice Rector of Strategic Research Planning and Development Dr. Vassilios L. Anastasopoulos. The responsibilities of the Research Committee are determined by the article 4, par. 6, of the Common Ministerial Decision no. KA/679/22.8.1996. The Research Committee consists of 9 members.

The most significant duties of the Research Committee are:

  • The elaboration of Proposals for the Senate concerning the research policy of the University of Patras
  • Approval, acceptance and disposal of funds for the materialization of research projects
  • Establishment of the Scientific and Economic Annual Budget of the Special Account
  • Composition of the Funding Guide of the Special Account
  • Searching for funding and notifying the scientific community of the University of Patras regarding scientific projects.
  • Provision of scholarships

The Secretariat of the Special Account

The duties and responsibilities of the secretariat are the following:

  • Monitors the accounting and administrative operations of the Special Account
  • Serves secretarial duties for the Research Committee
  • Elaborates the directives that the Research Committee recommends to the Senate
  • Ensures the execution of the directives of the Research Committee

Nowadays the Secretariat presents the following administrative structure:

  • Supervisor: Ms Lekka Eleni
  • Accountable of the Economic Budget: Ms Mavroidi Eirini
  • Departments:
    • Dept. of Administrative and Economic Transactions and Archive
    • Dept. of Accounting and Economic Management
    • Dept. for the Management of Greek funding projects
    • Dept. of Project Monitoring and Interposing
    • Dept. of Project Information and Promotion
    • Dept. of Legal Support and Quality
    • Dept. of Secretary

Copyright 2002-2021, University of Patras

University campus, 26504, Rio
Tel. 2610 997120, 2610 997100
Fax 2610 991711